Looking for your next favorite fantasy series for kids? Check out:


front cover_Momotaro.jpg
Click to read more & check out an excerpt!

Available April 2017!

“A breathless retelling of the Japanese legend of Momotaro, this is an Asian version of Percy Jackson; adventure fans will be waiting for more.”―Kirkus


Note from the author:


“I created the MOMOTARO series because I thought the Japanese story about a warrior fighting off the monsters who cause havoc in the human world should be better known. And I wanted to make an Asian (or half-Asian, like me!) superhero who would be relatable to many kids.

My favorite feedback from this story is hearing about how the book made reluctant readers put down their videogames and read!”


“With phantasmagorical environments, flying white rats, a fire-breathing bird, a giant, a snow demon, and other creepy things, there is abundant action. This retelling of a Japanese folktale celebrates courage, friendship, and pride of heritage, while featuring unforgettable characters and leaving readers eager for the next installment in this new series.”―Booklist

“Though the story of Momotaro is familiar to every Japanese child, Dilloway seamlessly weaves necessary background information into the fast, action-filled plot. Xander, a Japanese American boy, hardly knows the legend himself, so readers learn along with him. Xander’s candid and straightforward first-person narration will instantly resonate with middle grade readers, as will his story’s themes of self-acceptance and friendship. Yoon’s comic-style illustrations evoke Xander’s talent for drawing and bring welcome visual interest for reluctant readers. This fast-paced fantasy adventure with a foundation in Japanese culture is perfect for fans of Percy Jackson.”―School Library Journal

IndieBound finds your local bookstore!!

Barnes and Noble


Book Two is available for pre-order now !




Barnes and Noble





SISTERS OF HEART AND SNOW is now available. The tale of a real-life 12th-century samurai woman comes to life when modern sisters Drew and Rachel Snow discover the book hidden in their mother’s house. The saga of love and loss inspires their own lives and heals their relationships.


Kirkus: “As they embark on this project together, burdened by years of conflict, hurt feelings and an impossible desire to know more about their mysterious mother, Drew and Rachel discover, in each other and in themselves, a power they didn’t know they had—a power to heal, to forgive and become sisters once again. Alternating with Rachel and Drew’s story is the story of Tomoe Gozen and her unlikely friendship with her lover’s wife, Yamabuki. In the hands of a less experienced novelist, this format might have become trite, but the two narratives don’t draw obvious parallels. The ways in which Rachel and Drew learn from Tomoe and Yamabuki and apply those lessons to their own lives are unexpected and ultimately satisfying. In this enjoyable novel, imperfect and at times unlikable women become lovable.”

Available at IndieBound, Amazon, Barnes and Noble

An eBook only edition, THE TALE OF THE WARRIOR GEISHA, is a novella telling the historical part of the story, with additional content.




Now Available in Paperback: The Care and Handling of Roses with Thorns

WINNER OF BEST WOMEN’S FICTION AWARD,  the American Library Association’s Literary Tastes Reading List

 “Book-club alert! Dilloway’s exquisite little novel, about a biology teacher who breeds roses so she won’t have to think about her kidney disease, brims with all the heart-tugging appeal of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.”– Entertainment Weekly 

CareRosesThorns (2)

“This radiant debut pays moving tribute to the power of forgiveness.”– People Magazine, 4 Stars

A 2011 John Gardner Fiction Book Award Finalist

Read the first two chapters of How to Be an American Housewife: Housewife Excerpt